Week 4

Week 4 of our CSA adventure brought us the following items:

  • Kale – Today for lunch, we tried this Kale, Potato, and Onion Frittata from Epicurious. I definitely made some modifications (as usual). Per the reviews, I used six whole eggs and five cloves of garlic. I eyeballed the paprika, and I’m pretty sure I used at least a teaspoon. And there had to be cheese involved (some cheddar and Parmesan on top, right at the end, under the broiler). It was delicious and it was an amazingly simple way to eat a whole lot of kale with not much complaining!

20170704_131308.jpg

  • Asparagus – Just roasted with olive oil and sea salt. I still have some left, so I might try breading it again (like we did with the asparagus from the last box). It was labor-intensive and messy, but the kids definitely liked it better that way.
  • Lettuce – Again, lots of salad. I am dissatisfied with the ranch dressing from the grocery store. I always love it from restaurants – it’s somehow really different to me. (What’s your favorite ranch dressing? Do you make your own?) I do think it’s time we try something else with the lettuce. We were in Columbus with our friends Katie and PJ this past weekend, and they talked about making some spicy lettuce wraps. I’m thinking of trying this copycat recipe: PF Chang’s Chicken Lettuce Wraps. I’ll let you know how it goes.
  • Zucchini – I haven’t used these yet (since we were gone). We had such success with the zucchini boats, I think I’ll go that direction again this time. This one looks yummy: Sausage-Stuffed Zucchini Boats.
  • Candy Onions – I may roast these with the asparagus, or I might just chop them up and use them wherever I’d use regular onions.
  • Apples – Okay, I’m not entirely sure why we keep getting apples, since they’re obviously not in season! I think they feel like they have to include something sweet, and maybe they have these in cold storage? Who knows. What I do know is that I made the most mind-blowing apple crisp we’ve ever had. This is not health food, people. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream and it was just nuts. If you are not into “too-sweet” desserts, don’t even give this one a look!
  • My friend Jen suggested that we make this Summer Strawberry Cake with our yucky-looking strawberries from the last box. So we did! I’m no food photographer, but here it is:

20170624_182241.jpg

I totally forgot to sprinkle the top of it with sugar – that would have been tasty. It was really delicious straight out of the oven with vanilla ice cream. (Can you tell we like vanilla ice cream?) There was some left over, so we decided that in the interest of minimizing our food waste, we simply had to have it for breakfast the next morning. (It would be immoral not to.) It was a bit dry, so I made a simple syrup (literally just boiling a bit of sugar and a bit of water), and that moistened things right up. Success!

Leave a Reply

